Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Welcome to the 2014 Penn State Lehigh Valley Undergraduate Research Symposium

Note:  All professors/instructors serving as mentors for student projects:  Pay attention to the newly designed judging rubric.  All projects will be judged by the same rubric.  No late entries will be accepted.

Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Penn State Lehigh Valley

Public Exhibition and Judging
10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Auditorium – Room 135

Featured Speaker
12:15 – 1:30 p.m.

Dr. Shruti Gupta, Associate Professor, Marketing, Penn State Abington

Despite Unethical Retail Store Practices, Consumers at the Bottom of the Pyramid Continue to be Loyal

Abstract:  Bottom of pyramid (BoP) consumers are the poorest consumers in a given country.  Dr. Gupta discusses BoP consumers from India and the nature of widespread unethical retail practices prevalent amongst the neighborhood retail stores that serve the BoP consumer, types of patronage behaviors and the reasons why these consumers continue to support these retailers

Awards Presentation
1:30 – 2:30 p.m.
Auditorium – Room 135

Penn State Lehigh Valley's Undergraduate Research Symposium communicates and celebrates the participation of its undergraduate students in their scholarly research endeavors. Undergraduate students will present posters to showcase their work to a general audience. The symposium is open to the public.

Posters may be entered in the Arts, Humanities, Business and Social and Behavioral Sciences and STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics). Ribbons acknowledging the top three entries will be awarded. See poster criteria for additional information. Lap-top PowerPoint presentations are not allowed. 

Abstract submission due by March 7, 2014.  No late entries will be allowed.


Questions about the Penn State Lehigh Valley Undergraduate Research Symposium should be directed to Dr. Denise T. Ogden, Associate Professor of Marketing, Faculty Research and Scholarship Committee Chair, Penn State Lehigh Valley, at dto2@psu.edu

The 2014 Penn State Lehigh Valley Undergraduate Research Symposium is offered by the Penn State Lehigh Valley Faculty Research and Scholarship Committee.

Members: Chair:  Dr. Denise T. Ogden, Dr. Barbara Cantalupo, Dr. Xenia Hadjioannou, Dennis Phillips, Dr. Todd Retzlaff, Dr. Ken Thigpen